Sugar Pop and other Tid-Bits

Mom, why can’t I have some of that sugar pop?

This question was posed to me while in the car on our way home the other day. We have talked about pop with sugar and diet pop a hundred times before, but she was genuinely asking me the question this time. I told her that it wasn’t that she can’t have it, just that it has a lot of sugar in it, like a juice, so matching the insulin to the action of the sugar would be rather difficult and probably not worth it.

Ellie is 5, “not worth it” has no meaning to her…it’s the equivalent of me just saying no basically.

She ponders my answer for a moment and tells me that she would like to try it out anyway. Ugh! I thought, with my eyes in the back of my head searching the grey matter (cue : Reyna of course!) trying to think of a clever way to stop this madness without crushing my little girls optimism about doing something so damn simple as drinking a can of flippin’ pop. I told her it would work best with a meal and then explained the insulin action of Apidra and the action rate of “sugar pop” which is like the action rate of her juice when she’s low…very, very FAST. I used the example of her low from me bolusing a full bolus on ice pops the other night (which was a damn BIG holy cow low by the way, more on that a little later)…how it just doesn’t match up well and we needed to be cautious with this idea, you know, not just all willy nilly this little idea out. She was dead serious on the subject, had me repeat my explanation of insulin action and food action. She repeated what I said with added hand gestures…she was going to have sugar pop and she was totally prepared for the risks!!! This conversation occurred earlier in the week, we have not had sugar pop yet. Thank you 5-year-old brain who will get distracted by anything and everything at anytime! I’m not ready to start “experimenting” with the heavys yet. I just got comfortable with Dairy Queen mini blizzards for gods sake! Ha!

Now I’m going to get a little jumpy here, so bear with me.  I haven’t blogged for a couple of months and I’m going to just throw it all out there and then hopefully get a mo-jo back on for some semblance of consistency with my blog.

First, I live in Kansas.  It’s DAMN HOT AND MISERABLE HERE.  There is literally noooo excuse for this temperature this summer.  I am NOT happy about it.  A person CANNOT breath outside between the hours of 11am and 7pm EVERY SINGLE DAY.  It’s just wrong.  It’s like ONE HUNDRED AND SIXTEEN DEGREES OUT SIDE…EVERY. SINGLE. DAY. Good lord! Give. It. A. Rest.

Second, I have been quite silent since June.  I think Diabetes Camp did something to me.  I’m not sure what, but something.  Ellie loved it.  It was a small group of local Type 1 kids and only half day camp for a week, but for her it was really great and aside from being the youngest one there…she did really well I think.  It’s hard to be the youngest, but she really came around the second day.  I am very proud of her.  I stayed with her at the camp and helped when I could with the happenings.  I wanted to help anyway, but I also knew there was no way I was going to leave her there, not at 5 years old.  However, her blood sugars were fine and I realized pretty quickly that she would have been just fine without me there.  The nurses were wonderful and Ellie had no problem with the “rules” of camp.   Camp tired me terribly.  I think it drained me a little emotionally too.

Third. I think Apidra brought Ellies A1C down from 8.6 to 8.1 in two months.  I can’t prove it, but I’m keeping the Apidra.  Just thought I’d share!

Fourth.  Ellie starts Kindergarten August 17th.  I have decided that I don’t want her to go.  It’s just easier on me if she stays with me all the time so I can manage her blood sugars and don’t have to teach or explain how to manage her blood sugars to anyone (or everyone)…yeah…I know, she’s going to school.  She is SOOOO excited to go and I SOOOO want her to go and love it.  I just don’t want to feel scared and worried.  It makes me nutty and emotional, this affects others in my life in a negative way…they don’t like it either! (Specifically Ray, you will suffer the consequences of my excessive worry and nutty behaviour!  Sorry ’bout that in advance!)

Fifth.  I have, against all that is sane in my body, purchased Ellie…my 5 year old daughter a cell phone.  This actually defies logic I know.  However, all summer I have been dreading school and dreading my little girls questions regarding her freedom from helicopter D-mama.  Ellie is not going to want D to be a major “issue” while she is at school.  I have been reading blogs and articles for over a year now and the common theme amongst the school age Type 1 kids seems to be the whole going to the nurses office thing.  Missing class time, not getting to the lunchroom with the rest of the kids, not getting on the bus with everyone.  I was wracking my brain trying to figure out what I should ask of the staff at her school, how can I help Ellie with this issue that is sure to come up with her?  At Kindergarten round-up the nurse told me she would go to Ellie during the day so she wouldn’t have to leave class.  Oh yeah!  That is wonderful! But I want to be a little ahead of the game I think.  Yes, it’s a control issue…I admit it.  Sooo, I have got the cell phone…she is texting me her numbers and arrow direction (Dexcom CGM) already and I am happy as a pea about it.  I’m not sure this first year just how much the cell phone will factor in to her daily management, but I do know that she will benefit greatly as time goes by having the freedom this cell will give US!

Sixth, Steve at Without Envy has not posted.  I’m hoping all is well at his place and with his peeps…and he needs to post.  hint hint hint!

Seventh, (and last) This summer hasn’t been that bad in the D context.  I have to say that our second year has been much better.  I do have some peace…I’ve even had the benefit of actually being bored occasionally.  My next goal (for me) is to try to figure out how to reach out to other newly diagnosed children’s parents and be supportive and helpful.  The DOC is beginning to be a part of me and I love that.  It’s a wonderful place…thanks to ALL OF YOU WHO POST AND POST AND POST!

Feel free to comment on the “sugar pop” issue.  I have no clue what others do or think of the subject with D!   Loves!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sugar Pop and other Tid-Bits

  1. Joanne says:

    Thankfully Elise hasn’t asked about pop or drinks like that yet. We don’t typically drink that stuff, so I’m hoping it will be a non-issue. One answer that seems to work for Elise is to tell her that whatever she’s asking about isn’t healthy for her body. We talk a lot with her about healthy food vs. stuff that’s not appropriate to eat every day. She’s starting to get it, and will generally ask for fruit or veggies for a snack.

  2. Welcome back! 🙂
    Bean doesn’t like soda, so we don’t have any experience with that. But I think it’s just like anything that is limited or off limits for our D kids. They just want to be ‘normal’ and sometimes…at least with Bean…once she’s tried it and see how it affects her, she understands the ‘not worth it’ part of it. Yeah, she’s 7, but I think even your 5yr old would get it because D kids just get things like that!
    Excited about Apidra….that’s one of the things we will be talking with out ANP in a couple of weeks. Being able to see the spikes because of Dexcom has me frustrated.
    One of the first things Ubergeek looked into after Bean was dx’ed was a cell phone…and she was 6. Again, just something that’s in the realm of normal for D kids! And if it helps you with the transition to school, then heck yeah, it’s totally OK!! 🙂

  3. Becky V says:

    Party with jumpy castle = treat the lows with sugar pop. 🙂 Works great. Kills 2 birds with one stone. My son got to try 3 flavors in one afternoon because of that! (It was not one of my better D mgmt days).

  4. shannon says:

    thanks for popping in and catching us all up on what’s up with you. sending supportive vibes your way for the start of school. sounds like you’ve got staff willing to work with you, so that’s great! as far as ‘sugar pop’ goes, my kid has never been interested in it, so it hasn’t been an issue. until this summer. she only likes one kind – sierra mist – and i tell her she has to be under a certain number if she wants to have it. but she’s 11.

    ps, i’ve missed steve’s posts as well! glad you gave him the hint hint. 🙂

  5. Reyna says:

    Dear LORD!!! You finally posted!!! Wo-freakin’-H00!

    On the sugar pop…I would let her have part of one with a meal (my two cents). High Glycemic index items usually drop Joe, so I don’t usually bolus for all the carbs with juice and/or popsicles etc. Joe hates carbonation, so I don’t have experience with soda. Good luck. Tell her Reyna says “bottoms up”!

    And…good luck with the school. It will go well. I am impressed with the nurse coming to her classroom for her care. That is fantastic. It will all fall into place. It is VERY overwhelming the first few weeks. I also cried a lot…the transition of care, the worry, the emotional aspect of your baby going to k-garten. Get some kleenexes STAT.

    And, yes damnit, you are right…where oh where is Steve?!

  6. Lora says:

    Yeah, I’m keepin the Apidra too!!! We see on the 8th if our A1c improved since we started it.

    On the soda… when he does drink it. We do diet or Coke/Sprite zero. No carbs so no worries. I let him have it if we go out to dinner, but we don’t keep it around the house. He has not had a Reg soda since dx.

    Glad your back! Hope to see you posting more 🙂

  7. Stephanie says:

    Yay you are back!

    We haven’t really had the soda issue yet…pre-d…he’d have a Sprite with his lunch/dinner if we ate out. Now, his ‘treat’ is a Diet Coke with dinner. I know, it’s awful. He’s not a milk drinker, and while he does like chocolate milk, that makes him spike, so we don’t do that too often. Thankfully, Adam is a huge water drinker so the issue doesn’t come up too often.

    Good luck with Kindergarten! YOu are so lucky your nurse will come to her class!

  8. Julia says:

    Give her soda pop for lows; you will only need a VERY little bit; it’s quite carby and the carbonation aids in bringing blood sugar up; soda works quickly….. once used in this manner, I predict she will soon tire of it. We have always allowed diet soda. Once you get used to the taste of diet soda, regular soda tastes awful. I would probably relax restrictions on diet soda and allow her to drink some occasionally. Sorry, but I would not allow regular soda or regular pancake syrup otherwise; the rise is so quick, you simply cannot bolus for it.

Leave a Reply

